Home Contact Us Order Form Encyclopedia of New York State
Syracuse University Press  
   
New Books New books Fall 2017 Books Spring 2017 book catalog Seasonal Catalog Archive Books by Subject Awards Course Adoption Exam Copies Desk Copies Books by Title Books by Author Author Guidelines Order Information Domestic Orders International Orders Sales Representatives Request Reprint Permissions Contact Us Media About the Press Giving Join Mailing List
FALL 2005 CATALOG

The Warriors

 
 
Harold Zissman

Paper $19.95    |    0-8156-0839-X    |   2005

A first-hand account that gives special attention to the author's experience among predominantly non-Jewish partisans in Soviet Russia, where he confronted anti-Semitism while facing a common enemy.

Reviews
"Zissman's story is gripping, unusual-and he tells it well."
dash John K. Roth, author of Holocaust Politics

Description
In this candid memoir, Harold Zissman examines Jewish existence in prewar and wartime Poland. Born into an observant family, he begins by recalling his youth in the Polish town of Ostrow-Mazowieck, near the German border. It is the 1930s, a time of childhood nostalgia darkened by ominous anti-Semitic uprisings and government indifference.

In lean and concise prose, Zissman relives the German invasion of Poland and his own incarceration in a forced labor camp. He recalls life in the Derechin ghetto, where every day brought brutal Nazi persecution and the constant threat of slaughter. Finally, he tells of escape to Russia, where he fought alongside Soviet partisansdashonly to face prejudice from his comrades. In the tradition of Elie Wiesel and Primo Levi, Zissman probes the Nazi impact on Jewish notions of identity and community during and after the Holocaust. Few books offer such detailed insights into the complexity, peril, and volatility of life as a Jew among non-Jewish Soviet partisans, even while battling a common enemy.

View other books in this series

Author
Harold Zissman has lectured about his experiences during the Holocaust at a number of schools and organizations across the country. This is his first book.

6 x 9, 272 pages, 10 black-and-white photographs, 1 map



The Warriors Next Book in Catalog Order Direct Join Our Mailing List
 
line  

Syracuse University Press
621 Skytop Road, Suite 110
Syracuse, New York 13244-5290
Phone: 315-443-5534
Fax: 315-443-5545
Email: supress@syr.edu
Website: www.SyracuseUniversityPress.syr.edu

home   new books   books by subject   seasonal catalog archive  awards   books in print   facebook   twitter   blog   exam copies   desk copies   author guidelines   domestic orders   international orders   sales reps   requesting reprint permissions   contact us   media   giving   newsletter   resources   mailing list   about


© 1999-2017 Syracuse University Press, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.

syracuse web site design: CustomWebHelp.com